Ambassador to Host Acclaimed Pianist Taka Kigawa

Friday Concerts Livestream: Taka Kigawa

Friday, December 18 at 5:00 p.m. EST

Online with Facebook Live

Admission: Free

Live from the Ambassador’s Residence!

Critically acclaimed concert pianist Taka Kigawa will perform in the third installment of the Consulate General of Japan in New York’s Friday Concerts series. He has an exciting program of beautiful classical music planned.

The New York Times listed this concert as one of the ten classical concerts to stream in December, so you have to give it a listen!


1. Claude Debussy (1862 – 1918)

Estampes (1903)

I. Pagodes

II. La soirée dans Grenade

III. Jardins sous la pluie


2. Frederic Chopin (1810 – 1849)

Prelude in C-sharp minor, Op. 45 (1841)

Ballade No. 1 in G minor, Op. 23 (1835)

Polonaise No. 6 in A-flat major, Op. 53, “Heroic” (1842)


3. Tōru Takemitsu (1930 – 1996)

Rain Tree Sketch II (1992)


4. Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)

Piano Sonata No. 14 in C-sharp minor, Op. 27, No. 2, “Sonata quasi una fantasia” (1801)

I. Adagio sostenuto – attacca

II. Allegretto – attacca

III. Presto agitato

How to Watch

The Consulate will stream the concert online with Facebook Live. Please follow the Consulate’s Facebook page for details.

About Taka Kigawa

Throughout his career, Taka Kigawa has performed extensively nationally and internationally as a concert soloist, recitalist, and chamber music artist.

On August 28th The New York Times called him an “enthralling but elusive pianist” and named his 2010 New York City recital one of the best concerts of the year. Musical America selected a subsequent 2011 recital as one of the most notable concerts of the 2011-2012 season. For his recital at Le Poisson Rouge in August 2012, he performed J.S. Bach’s The Art of Fugue entirely from memory and broke the venue’s attendance record in the solo recital genre, a record it holds to this day. His 2014 recital in Buenos Aires was named one of the best concerts of the year by Argentina’s leading newspaper, La Nación.Possessing an extremely large and varied repertoire, ranging from the Baroque to the avant-garde, Taka Kigawa has collaborated closely with Pierre Boulez, Myung-Whun Chung and Jonathan Nott. He premiered the last solo piano work of jazz legend Yusef Lateef in New York City in 2013.

Kigawa grew up in Nagano, Japan, where he began piano studies at the age of three. He earned his Bachelor of Arts degree from Shinsyu University and his Master of Arts degree from Tokyo Gakugei (Liberal Arts) University, graduating with honors in Piano Performance. He furthered his studies in the United States at The Juilliard School in New York City, where he was awarded a Master of Music degree. He has performed extensively as a recitalist and soloist in New York, with appearances in Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall and Alice Tully Hall; Washington, D.C.; Boston; Cleveland; Paris; Milan; and Barcelona.