Celebrating Live Music in NYC with “Tokyo to New York”

Thomas Piercy “Tokyo to New York” “Celebration”

Sunday, September 12 at 5:00 p.m.

Scorca Hall, National Opera Center – 330 7th Avenue (between 28th and 29th Streets)

Admission: Free

​This “Tokyo to New York” concert is a CELEBRATION of live music coming back to New York City. Due to COVID-19 pandemic restrictions, almost all live concerts have been cancelled or postponed since early 2020. For many people, this will be one of their first live concerts to attend since that time.

​The musicians and composers of “Tokyo to New York” welcome you to join in the celebration!

This concert is open to the public free of charge thanks to the New York City Artists Corps Initiative to bring live music back to New York. Seating is limited; early arrival recommended. Doors open at 4:30pm. For those who can’t attend in person, this concert will be live streamed. The live stream will be visible on the “Live from the National Opera Center” YouTube Channel the day of the event. ​​


Lish Lindsey – Flute

Thomas Piercy – Clarinet and Hichiriki

Lara Lewison – Violin

Daniel Hass – Cello

​​Tengku Irfan – Piano


Jane Leslie – “Celebration” (from “Passages”) for clarinet and piano (2005)

Tania León – “Parajota Delate” for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, and piano (1988)

Elisenda Fábregas – “Masks” for clarinet, cello, and piano (2019/2021)
I. Incantation and consummation II. Mischievous Spirits

Frances White – “The arc of the bird” for clarinet, violin, and piano (2018)

Miho Sasaki – “Swirling Spheres” for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, and piano (2021)

Tengku Irfan – “Characterization” for clarinet, violin, and piano (2014)


Masatora Goya – “Toro Nagashi” for hichiriki and piano (2016)

Toshi Ichiyanagi – “Existence” for clarinet and piano (1997)

Beata MoonMoonpaths” for clarinet, violin, and piano (1998)
Introduction; I.  Moderato; II. Vivace, ma non troppo; III. Largo; IV. Free, playful; Reprise

Michael Schelle – “In the Shame of Her Own Silence” for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, and piano (2021)

Vaccination Requirement

As of September 1, in accordance with New York City’s new executive order regarding vaccination regulations for performance venues, the National Opera Center will require proof of one dose of a COVID-19 vaccine and matching identification for all guests 12 years or older who seek entry to the facility.

About the Concert Series

“Tokyo to New York” celebrates the connections between Tokyo and New York City with concerts in Tokyo and New York—and throughout the world. The concerts feature new works composed for Western classical instruments as well as traditional Japanese instruments including the hichiriki, ryuteki, sho, koto, shamisen, shakuhachi, and kugo.

The composers are based in Tokyo and NYC and include a wide variety of styles of music. They have ranged in age from 10 to 97 and come from all walks of life and experience: from elementary and high school students to university students to university professors; from self-taught composers to composers with PhDs; from emerging composers to composers who have won such prominent awards as the Takemitsu Prize, Grammy Award, Latin Grammy Award, the Geneva Prize, and the Pulitzer Prize.

Under the Artistic Direction of Thomas Piercy, the musicians of “Tokyo to New York” have had the opportunity to work with many of the composers programmed in these concerts. Since 2012, “Tokyo to New York” has performed more than 200 world premieres and numerous Japan and United States Premieres.

For more information, please visit the Tonada Productions website.