jazz, music, concert, NY Jazz Composers' Mosaic, Miggy Miyajima, Rafael Piccolotto de Lima, Jihye Lee, The DiMenna Center, NYC, Japan, South Korea, Brazil

Dancing Notes by NY Jazz Composers’ Mosaic

Dancing Notes by NY Jazz Composers’ Mosaic

Thursday, August 8 at 8:00 p.m. (Doors open at 7:30 p.m.)

The DiMenna Center – 450 West 37th Street (at 10th Avenue), Suite 502

Admission: $32 in advance/$35 at the door

NY Jazz Composers’ Mosaic returns to The DiMenna Center to showcase traditional dances from Brazil, South Korea and Japan through jazz music performed by The Mosaic Orchestra.

Founded by three New York-based composers—Jihye Lee, a former indie pop singer/songwriter from South Korea; Rafael Piccolotto de Lima, a Brazilian who was nominated for a Latin Grammy; and Migiwa Miyajima, who was once editor-in-chief of a travel magazine in Japan and now leads the dynamic 17-piece Miggy Augmented Orchestra—the Composers’ Mosaic produces events that connect cultures from around the world through jazz, an American art form. The trio believes that jazz inspires us to understand the beauty of diversity and that it will lead us to a better future.

NYJCM had its world premiere concert on December 5, 2018, also at The DiMenna Center, New York City’s only acoustically optimized rehearsal and recording space dedicated to classical music. For the concert next week, NYJCM will premiere new works written for traditional dancers from each composer’s country, showcasing unique collaborations between their heritage and jazz orchestra.


  • Jihye Lee (from South Korea)
  • Migiwa Miyajima (from Japan)
  • Rafael Piccolotto de Lima (from Brazil)


  • Kyo Kasumi, Sayuri Tanabe (Tate Hatoryu, a group that practices the Japanese performing art of sword fighting)
  • Song Hee Lee (from Korea)


  • Ben Kono
  • Alejandro Aviles
  • Dan Pratt
  • Jeremy Powell
  • Carl Maraghi


  • Mike Fahie
  • James Burton III
  • Nick Grinder
  • Ron Wilkins


  • Brian Pareschi
  • John Lake
  • David Smith
  • Alex Norris

Rhythm Section

  • Adam Birnbaum – Piano
  • Sebastian Noelle – Guitar
  • Evan Gregor – Bass
  • Rogerio Boccato – Percussion
  • Chris Smith – Drums

For more information and to purchase tickets, please visit The DiMenna Center’s website.