Duo YUMENO, Carnegie Hall, NYC, Japan, Marty Regan, Daron Hagen, koto, shamisen, cello, Shōho Mutoh, Reona Ito,Toshi Ichiyanagi

Duo YUMENO to Celebrate Tenth Anniversary with Concert at Carnegie Hall

Duo YUMENO Tenth Anniversary Recital – Music for Koto, Shamisen, and Cello

Saturday, March 2 from 2:00 p.m. until 4:00 p.m.

Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall – 57th Street and 7th Avenue

Admission: $40/$20 students

Duo YUMENO, the husband-and-wife team of koto and shamisen player Yoko Reikano Kimura and cellist Hikaru Tamaki, will celebrate its tenth anniversary with a concert at Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall.

The concert will feature the world premiere performance of a commissioned work by prominent Japanese composer Toshi Ichiyanagi. Also included in the program will be pieces by Daron Hagen and Marty Regan that seamlessly blend Eastern and Western traditions. Japanese shamisen player Shōho Mutoh will join Kimura in a virtuosic, improvisational rendition of the classic Japanese masterwork “Shin-sarashi.” New York-based orchestral and choral conductor Reona Ito will be the guest speaker.

Duo YUMENO performing “Appassionato mov. III” in Tokyo in 2015.

One of Japan’s most prominent composers and pianists, Ichiyanagi studied composition under John Cage and is credited with introducing many avant-garde musical concepts to Japan. Hagen is an award-winning composer, librettist, stage director, conductor, collaborative pianist, and essayist whom the Chicago Tribune described as a “composer born to write operas.” Regan has composed more than 70 works for traditional Japanese instruments and is affiliated with AURA-J, one of Japan’s premiere performance ensembles of contemporary-traditional Japanese music.

Through Duo YUMENO, Kimura and Tamaki create a singular sound inspired by tradition but with a contemporary sensibility. Their repertoire includes a dynamic range of compositions, all of which explore the dialogue between classical Japanese and Western music. This singular fusion of sound has been praised as “exquisite” and “compelling.”


Yoko Reikano Kimura, Koto, Shamisen, and Voice
Hikaru Tamaki, Cello

Shōho Mutoh, Shamisen

Reona Ito, Speaker



Toshi Ichiyanagi: New work for shamisen and cello (World Premiere)

Daron Hagen: “Appassionato”

Marty Regan: “Silence of the Moon”

Fukakusa Kengyō (arranged by Kin’ichi Nakanoshima): “Shin-sarashi”

Sayaka Ishiguro: “Genka Triptych for Unaccompanied Cello”


For more information and to purchase tickets, please visit Carnegie Hall’s website.

Feature photo by John Broughton