Miggy Augmented Orchestra Returns to Birdland

Migiwa Miyajima and the Miggy Augmented Orchestra

Sunday, October 31 from 5:00 p.m. until 6:30 p.m. (Doors open at 4:00 p.m.)

Birdland Jazz Club – 315 W. 44th Street (between 8th and 9th Avenues)

Admission: $30

Miggy Augmented Orchestra is back at Birdland!

The 17-piece Miggy Augmented Orchestra performs under the leadership of Japan-born, New York-based composer and pianist Migiwa “Miggy” Miyajima. The orchestra brings together rising stars and accomplished veterans in a radiant ensemble devoted to Miggy’s complex, melodic, and urgently swinging original music.

The Miggy Augmented Orchestra harnesses the excitement of jazz to express Miyajima’s unique experience as an artist shaped by life in the U.S. and Japan.

Composer / Bandleader

Migiwa Miyajima

Trumpets and Flugelhorns

Dan Urness
David Smith
Matt Holman
Rachel Therrien


John Mosca
Jason Jackson
Jennifer Wharton (bass trombone)
Douglas Purviance (bass trombone)


Ben Kono (alto saxophone, soprano saxophone, flute, clarinet)
Alejandro Aviles (alto saxophone, soprano saxophone, flute, clarinet)
Sam Dillon (tenor saxophone, flute, clarinet)
Quinsin Nachoff (tenor saxophone, clarinet)
Carl Maraghi (baritone saxophone, bass clarinet)

Rhythm Section

Pete McCann (guitar)
Migiwa Miyajima (piano)
bass Noriko Ueda
Dan Pugach (drums)

To purchase tickets, please use the QR code in the photo below or visit Birdland’s website.

Her signature style of soul-touching tunes, Miyajima’s music reflects her journey as a musician and humanitarian.”
– Birdland Jazz Club

COVID-19 Protocols

In accordance with the most recent NYC COVID-19 guidelines, Birdland requires proof of vaccination for all staff, artists, and patrons. To attend the concert, guests must show a CDC card, Excelsior passport, or a picture of your CDC card with a valid ID.