Miggy Augmented Orchestra to Perform Nine-Movement Suite Based on 3.11

Migiwa Miyajima and the Miggy Augmented Orchestra

Tuesday, April 19 from 7:00 p.m. until 9:00 p.m. (Doors open at 6:30 p.m., and there is no late seating)

Culture Lab LIC at The Plaxall Gallery – 5-25 46th Avenue, Queens

Admission: $45

“Unbreakable Hope and Resilience” is a nine-movement musical suite by Migiwa Miyajima. Her 17-piece orchestra will perform it live at Culture Lab LIC.

About This Event

Led by Japanese-born, New York-based composer and producer Migiwa Miyajima, “Unbreakable Hope and Resilience” is a collaborative performing art of the nine-movement musical suite played by her 17-piece big band, Miggy Augmented Orchestra. It includes the projection mapping of images and text related to the healing process after the 2011 Great East Japan Earthquake.

As a survivor herself, Miyajima interviewed survivors of the tragedy and volunteers for the recovery efforts as part of her own healing process. Over time she collected empowering, real-life stories. The compositions and Japanese illustrator Nao Sakamoto’s images used for the projection are based on the beautiful quotes Miyajima collected during the interviews.

Culture Lab LIC will broadcast this performance live worldwide.

A Q&A session will follow the concert.

Ticket Information

To attend the in-person concert, please purchase tickets through Culture Lab LIC’s Eventbrite page. You can also watch the free livestream of the concert on Culture Lab LIC’s YouTube channel.

About Culture Lab LIC

Culture Lab LIC is a 501(c)(3) that brings accessible, high-quality art of all genres to the community and supports local artists by providing rehearsal, performance, exhibition space, and a robust residency program. CL is dedicated to upholding equity, diversity, and inclusion across all platforms. For more information, please visit Culture Lab LIC’s website.