Music by Japanese avant-garde composers at Random Access Music for Tokyo to New York

Random Access Music and Thomas Piercy Present Tokyo to New York

Random Access Music: Tokyo to New York

Sunday, December 11 at 6:00 p.m.

Martha Graham Studio One — 55 Bethune Street (at Washington Street)

Admission: $25 | $10 Seniors and Students

Random Access Music, under the artistic direction of Thomas Piercy, presents masterpieces from 20th century Japanese avant-garde composers Yoshio Hachimura, Toru Takemitsu, and Joji Yuasa. In addition to these three pieces, which are rarely performed together in concert, the concert features the world premieres of pieces composed for the same instrumentation by NYC-based RAM composers Gilbert Galindo, Masatora Goya, and Frances White.

These quintets for flute, clarinet, harp, percussion, and piano are performed by the award-winning members of the RAM Players: Lish Lindsey, flute; Thomas Piercy, clarinet; Tomina Parvanova, harp; Josh Perry, percussion; and Tengku Irfan, piano.

The Hachimura, Takemitsu, and Yuasa works were composed for the critically acclaimed and ground- breaking Sound Space Ark ensemble. Piercy regularly works with composer Yuasa and performed these Sound Ark pieces in a 2017 concert in Tokyo at the National Noh Theatre with the original Sound Ark pianist Aki Takahashi.

To reserve your tickets, please send an email to


Yoshio Hachimura — Breathing Field (1988)

Toru Takemitsu — Rain Spell (1982)

Joji Yuasa — A Winter Day (1981)

Gilbert Galindo — Where are you, Spirit Most High (2022) World Premiere

Masatora Goya — Deep Dive (2022) World Premiere

Frances White — Phases of the Moonflower (2022) World Premiere

For more information about the concert and the composers, please visit RAM’s website.

Music by Japanese avant-garde composers at Random Access Music for Tokyo to New York

About the Concert Series

“Tokyo to New York” celebrates the connections between Tokyo and New York City with concerts in Tokyo and New York—and throughout the world. The concerts feature new works composed for Western classical instruments as well as traditional Japanese instruments including the hichiriki, ryuteki, sho, koto, shamisen, shakuhachi, and kugo.

The composers are based in Tokyo and NYC and include a wide variety of styles of music. They have ranged in age from 19 to 95 and come from all walks of life and experience: from elementary and high school students to university students to university professors; from self-taught composers to composers with PhDs; from emerging composers to composers who have won such prominent awards as the Takemitsu Prize, Grammy Award, Latin Grammy Award, the Geneva Prize, and the Pulitzer Prize.

Under the artistic direction of Thomas Piercy, the musicians of “Tokyo to New York” have had the opportunity to work with many of the composers programmed in these concerts. Since 2012, “Tokyo to New York” has performed more than 200 world premieres and numerous Japan and United States Premieres.

For more information, please visit the Tonada Productions website.