Thomas Piercy: Tokyo to New York at Bargemusic

Thomas Piercy: Tokyo to New York

Friday, October 25 at 7:00 p.m.

Bargemusic – 1 Water Street, Brooklyn

Admission: $35/$30 Seniors/$20 Students and Children

The October 25, 2019 Thomas Piercy: Tokyo to New York concert on Bargemusic’s Here and Now series features works by Tokyo and NYC-based composers. It includes five world premieres composed for clarinetist Thomas Piercy as well as the U.S. premiere of Toshi Ichiyanagi’s “Existence.”

The composers range in age from 24 to 96 years, and include recent college graduates as well as composers who have received such recognition as the Pulitzer Prize, the Grammy Award, the Latin Grammy Award, and Japan’s Order of Culture.

Composers Chen Yihan, Lyudmilla German, Zhihua Hu, Akemi Naito, Miho Sasaki, Michael Schelle, and Jose Serebrier will be in attendance at the concert. Since 2012, Thomas Piercy and the Tokyo to New York concerts have premiered more than 100 works and numerous Japan and U.S. premieres.

In addition to the World Premieres composed for Piercy, of particular interest is Toshi Ichiyanagi’s “Existence.” “Existence” was premiered in 1997 on the concert honoring the one-year anniversary of the death of pianist Aki Takahashi’s husband, Kuniharu Akiyama. There was only one copy of the manuscript, and it was thought for many years to be lost. Takahashi found it a couple of years ago and invited Piercy to join her in performing it at a 20th-year anniversary concert in Tokyo. This will be the U.S. premiere and only the third performance of this beautiful music by one of Japan’s leading composers.


  • Thomas Piercy, Clarinet
  • Lish Lindsey, Ryuteki
  • Xiao Li, Soprano
  • Zhihua Hu, Piano
  • Chen Yihan, Piano


  • Lera Auerbach“The Prayer” for solo clarinet
  • Chen Yihan“San Shou” for soprano, clarinet, and piano. World Premiere*
  • Lyudmilla German“Trio” for ryuteki, clarinet, and piano. World Premiere*
  • Kyoko Hirai“Daydream” for clarinet and piano. World Premiere*
  • Zhihua Hu“Autumn Wind” for clarinet and piano. World Premiere*
  • Toshi Ichiyanagi“Existence” for clarinet and piano. United States Premiere
  • Akemi Naito“Solitude” for solo clarinet and electronics. Clarinet version; World Premiere
  • Ned Rorem“Far, Far Away” for clarinet and piano
  • Michael Schelle“The Tragic Paradigm of Miss Mi$-T’s Misguided Expectations” for clarinet, ryuteki, accordion, piano, and percussion. World Premiere*
  • Miho Sasaki“Drift Ice” for bass clarinet and accordion. New York Premiere*
  • Jose Serebrier“Tango in Blue” for clarinet and piano.
  • Emilio Teubal“Rio” for solo piano.

*Composed for Thomas Piercy

To purchase tickets to the concert, please visit Bargemusic’s website.

Thomas Piercy: Tokyo to New York

About Thomas Piercy

“Tokyo to New York” concerts, under Artistic Director, clarinetist, and hichiriki player Thomas Piercy, celebrates the connections between Tokyo and New York City with a series of concerts in Tokyo and New York—and throughout the world. The concerts feature new works composed for Western classical instruments as well as traditional Japanese instruments. The concerts feature composers from Japan and NYC and include a wide variety of styles of music.

Thomas Piercy is a critically acclaimed musician with orchestral, concerto, recital, and chamber music appearances throughout the Americas, Europe, and Asia. He has been described by critics as “Brilliant…playing with refinement and flair…evoking a panache in the contemporary works.” A versatile artist defying categorization, he has performed with artists of all genres on virtually every medium.

For more information about Thomas Piercy, please visit his website.

Other Events and Stories of Interest: